A Letter that Matters the MOST

Pallavi Ekbote

To

The Human Being,

Planet no. 3,

Solar System

Subject:  Complaining about poor maintenance of the residence.

Dear my creature,

I am writing this letter to you to complain about the poor maintenance of the residence and the troubles which I have to face due to it.

Since many years, ailment has become a routine for me. Perhaps, I may succumb soon. The reason why I have issues only with you and not with other creatures is because they are obeying my precepts and living their lives facilely. A mother always shows solicitude and whatever she advises, it is for the betterment of her children. When you were born, my only desire was to acquaint you with everyone in the universe, but then I thought to let you ascertain about us, and you did it. You found about your mother, all your relatives, the stars, the planets and most prominently your grandfather-the Sun. You were my beloved child. This is the reason why I bestowed you a special reward of sentiments and thought process. Though your progress fascinated me, after a certain period, it didn’t seem like before. Having technological power certainly does not mean that you do everything as per your wish. It is your technological misuse that has left me in a serious condition. I am suffering from a high fever called ‘Global Warming’ due to some greenhouse gases present in my body. I have been coughing ceaselessly since many years because of pollution. It was endurable for me at the early age when you were a juvenile, but then I had to take some undesirable actions to make you evolve into a better personality.

There were many times when I was so cheesed off that nothing could stop me. My numerous negative emotions like Floods, Droughts, Volcano eruptions, Tsunamis and Earthquakes had come out of me. It made you realize your mistake but only for a couple of months. It all started again. Although water produced by me is salty, I offer you fresh water by the process of rain. It isn’t my fault that you deforest the land and then abide water crisis. Your grandfather provides you not only sunlight but different sources of energy that keeps you alive. It isn’t his fault that you defile me unconditionally and slay my Ozone army which dauntlessly protects me from UV rays. Trees create their own food by photosynthesis. They don’t greed for more. Animals and birds have their own meal. They don’t come and eat from your plate, do they? Then why are you intruding in their lives? The land doesn’t belong only to you. I obviously let you have access to adequate resources up-to your requirement, but please don’t harm others’ habitats. They also deserve a life just like you. As I mentioned earlier, you are special to me but don’t force me to show up my wrath again. I can’t watch the decease of my own children. There won’t be any purpose of my existence then. Has anybody ever wanted her mother to pass away? If no, then please stop polluting my breath (air), stop cutting my arms (trees), stop killing your brothers and sisters (animals & birds) and stop being selfish!

As a mother, I request you to take immediate actions against this very sensitive and significant matter. You are grown up now, so you should take some responsibility of maintaining your own house. Otherwise I’ll have to take some stringent action before I perish!

Thanking you,

                                                                                                                                                  Yours truly,

Mother Earth

Attachment of my health reports:

Leave a Reply

